WATCH: Danielia Cotton – “Sideways”

danielacottonFolks have been sleeping on Danielia Cotton through most of her career. She’s been dropping soulful rock for just about 10 years with a couple EPs and a couple of albums under her belt. Now she’s doing an album of all covers called The Real Book, which drops on August 19 featuring songs by Eurythmics, Bruno Mars, Bill Withers, Radiohead, The Staple Singers, and Simon & Garfunkel, just to name a few. The first single is a cover of Citizen Cope’s “Sideways,” which was also featured on her Woodstock EP released earlier this year.

‘The Real Book’ Tracklist:
1. Eurythmics – “Sweet Dreams” (feat. Rachael Yamagata)
2. Bruno Mars – “Gorilla”
3. The Rolling Stones – “Gimme Shelter” (feat. Amy Helm)
4. Stevie Wonder – “They Won’t Go When I Go”
5. Radiohead – “The Daily Mail” (feat. Tracy Bonham)
6. Bill Withers – “Hope She’ll Be Happier”
7. The Staple Singers – “Respect Yourself” (feat. Tracy Bonham)
8. Blind Faith – “Can’t Find My Way Home”
9. Abbey Lincoln – “Throw It Away”
10. Citizen Cope – “Sideways”
11. Simon & Garfunkel – “Bridge Over Troubled Water”
12. The Zombies – “This Will Be Our Year” (feat. Amy Helm)

Check out the video for “Sideways”:

About the author

Quibian Salazar-Moreno is co-founder of The Hollywood Shuffle. He's an experienced entertainment journalist based in Los Angeles, by way of Denver, Colorado.